I Read The News Today, Oh Boy...

Front Page > Rock and Roll News

Capitol to re-release two more classic Beach Boys albums on vinyl

Hollywood, California -- August 10, 2009 -- Put the needle in the groove! Capitol/EMI's high quality "From The Capitol Vaults" U.S. vinyl campaign continues November 3 with the limited edition, 180-gram vinyl release of 11 classic, standout albums from EMI Music's celebrated catalog.

Capitol/EMI's November 3 "From The Capitol Vaults" releases, all previously out of print on vinyl, include The Band's Cahoots and Stage Fright, The Beach Boys' Summer Days (And Summer Nights!!) and Beach Boys Today!, David Bowie's Aladdin Sane, Diamond Dogs, and Young Americans, Faust's Faust IV, and Frank Sinatra's Come Dance With Me!, Come Fly With Me, and In The Wee Small Hours.

Capitol/EMI launched its "From The Capitol Vaults" campaign on September 2, 2008 with 13 classic titles, all previously out-of-print on vinyl. Included in the series' debut were A Perfect Circle's Mer de Noms, The Beach Boys' Pet Sounds, Coldplay's Parachutes, A Rush Of Blood To The Head, and X&Y, Radiohead's Pablo Honey, The Bends, OK Computer, Kid A (two 10" 140-gram LPs), Amnesiac (two 10" 140-gram LPs), and Hail To The Thief, R.E.M.'s Document, and Steve Miller Band's Greatest Hits 1974-78.

On September 30, the campaign continued with the release of Jimi Hendrix's incendiary 1970 concert album, Band Of Gypsys, on fiery red 180-gram vinyl, and John Lennon's chart-topping 1971 studio album, Imagine, on 180-gram vinyl.

An additional 13 titles were released on October 28, including The Band's Music From Big Pink and The Band, The Beach Boys' Endless Summer, John Lennon's Rock 'N' Roll, Paul McCartney & Wings' Band On The Run, Megadeth's Peace Sells and Rust In Peace, Queensryche's Operation: Mindcrime, Roxy Music's For Your Pleasure and Roxy Music, Stray Cats' Built For Speed, and The Verve's Urban Hymns.

On February 24, Ben Harper's entire Virgin Records catalog was released by EMI Music in limited edition, 180-gram vinyl packaging. Nine Ben Harper albums, all previously out-of-print on vinyl, have been restored to the format with Harper's supervision. The LPs were released in deluxe packaging with carefully replicated artwork and two live EPs also made their vinyl release debuts.

On April 21, 12 Radiohead EPs were released on 180-gram vinyl for the first time, including "2 + 2 = 5," "Creep," "Fake Plastic Trees," "High & Dry," "Just," "Karma Police," "My Iron Lung," "No Surprises," "Paranoid Android," "Pyramid Song," "Street Spirit (Fade Out)," and "Drill."

On June 16, the series continued with The Beach Boys' Sunflower and Surf's Up, Merle Haggard's Mama Tried, Megadeth's So Far, So Good... So What!, Plastic Ono Band's Live Peace In Toronto 1969, Red Hot Chili Peppers' Freaky Styley, Mother's Milk, and The Uplift Mofo Party Plan, Roxy Music's Country Life and Stranded, and The Specials' self-titled album. All "From The Capitol Vaults" titles feature carefully replicated artwork and packaging true to their original single or gatefold jacket LP releases. More "From The Capitol Vaults" titles will soon be announced.

For more information, visit fromthecapitolvaults.com.

Published August 11, 2009

Search news for:

 Tweet this article
 Share on Facebook

Front Page  The Beatles  Paul McCartney  John Lennon  George Harrison  Ringo Starr 

Home  Beatle News Blog  Contact Us

News Stories Copyright © 2009 The Author
Original Content Copyright © 2002- Adam Forrest, All Rights Reserved